It’s Official – First Year of College is Complete!

Image from here

Well I can’t tell you what a sigh of relief it is to finally have the results back for my first year of college and to know that I am safely through to year 2!

It’s not that I thought I had done particularly badly but sometimes you just never know for sure.  We are just awaiting our Philosophy marks now which I am pretty sure I should have passed – touch wood.  Anyway the main thing for me is that I get to go to second year in 2013.

I am sure everyone around me didn’t doubt for a minute that I could do it but I have discovered something really interesting about studying – at least for me.  It seems that studying is all about where your head is.  The statement “Whether you think you can or think you can’t, you are right,” has never seemed more true.  I have never really seen myself as much of a scholar but I do really enjoy learning – it’s just the rebel in me doesn’t like conforming to learning by a schedule.  It really is an interesting place to be in that of not being confident of anything in particular.  I found myself looking around into other areas of my life to take strength from the things that I actually knew I could do and funnily enough I found it quite a challenge.  I tend to be more the sort of person who does different things for the experience more so than for a desire to master them.  I’m not really sure if this is a good thing, it does make life fun though.  With study you are very much in the ‘Conscious Uncompetant’ phase of the learning cycle.  This is not really somewhere i can honestly say I am entirely comfortable when there is an expectation of attaining a certain result which leads to pass/fail scenarios, so that’s going to continue to be an interesting learning curve for me over the next three years of study.  I know that I am going to need to focus more on maintaining a study regime and being more consistent along with scheduled time out.  Our psychology lecturer advised us to create a self care plan which is something that she does as a health care professional to avoid burn out.  I think this will work really well for me as I like to be able to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

So today I would like to pose the question ‘What was your big learning for 2012?’ and ‘Was it where you were headed at the beginning of the year?’  If not ‘What changed your plans and why?’

Thanks for joining me along the path so far and I look forward to hearing from you all 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s Official – First Year of College is Complete!

  1. Linda says:

    My big learning for 2012 was that I wasn’t as trapped as I thought I was; I just needed to take a risk and let go of security. I left my job, travelled, and came home and explored new ideas for earning a living. Now I am in the process of becoming self employed. My learning for 2013 will be how to earn a sustainable living in a way that allows me to stay happy and creative. I am tracking my journey at mayandseptember.wordpress.com.

    • Thanks for you comments Linda and well done on your journey. It’s challenging to walk away from what is safe but so satisfying when you move towards your dreams. All the best and I look forward to your future posts.

Leave a Reply

