What’s Your “Why”

20121111-193237.jpg

I have been hearing a lot about Simon Sinok’s book “Start a with Why” lately and found his TED talk on the Internet . It naturally has inspired me to look at my own “why” and perhaps give it more clarity.
I suppose I have a couple of why’s. However when there is a why there must be a question or challenge for which the why is the response so my first question I guess is why am I, someone in the second half of my thirties, going through five years of education in a pretty full on program with no solid university education history? Sounds like a crazy thing to do when I haven’t previously proven myself as a scholar right?
The why of this one is simple to me. I have had many many jobs (I have to laugh here, as I type the spell check on my iPad mistook the words ‘many’ and ‘jobs’ with ‘McJobs ‘- I think it might be right!) and I haven’t really enjoyed a lot of them. This has lead me to look at why I was there, which of course at the time was purely for the money. The thing about moving around so much between jobs is that it gives you a greater understanding of your patterns and where you are stuck in life, just like an adjustment brings attention to areas of your spine and body which are not moving as they should. It seemed that I wasn’t quite looking at work in the right way. I was looking at work from a “can I perform that task” point of view instead of a “will I love doing this” point of view. This probably is glaringly obvious to most people but it was a real break through for me. So I started asking myself if there was something that I would be really excited to get out of bed in the morning to go and do and if so, what would that be. This is my “why” for deciding to go on to further study along with the fact that I always wanted to go to uni but never had the chance.
My “why” for chiropractic college is another story.
Since discovering what chiropractic is really about I have always been attracted to its potential to help people “discover your potential” as the lovely team at Coast Chiropractic Kawana say. This is not a result of chiropractic that is immediately obvious to a lot of people as within the profession chiropractic is mainly about maintaining optimal health.
It wasn’t until a couple of days ago when we had a guest lecturer from our college research department come and speak to our class, which connected another awesome book I have read to chiropractic, that I had another “ah ha” moment. Tasks book is called The Brain That Changes Itself by Norman Doidge. It talks about the concept of neuroplasticity and that the brain is constantly capable of permanent change at all stages of life and even able to heal and rewire itself from injuries previously thought to cause permanent damage.
The key theme that interested me about the book was that it highlighted the fact that the more we use certain pathways in our brains the more they become ingrained and the harder they are to change. I think we have all experienced that in life. When we develop habits it is harder to create new ones than to simply maintain the old. It is the same within our bodies and more importantly within our brains. What we think about and do makes up a huge part of who we think we are. Try this simple exercise and you’ll see what I mean. Stand up for a moment and allow your back to hunch over as if you are unable to stand up straight, think of the way a really elderly and fragile person would stand. Now from this position just notice how your body feels and the thoughts that are in your head. Maybe try walking around for a couple of minutes like this and monitor how you feel I bet it’s really hard to come up with positive, expansive, optimistic thoughts about anything. Do you feel like anything is possible, that you are strong and invincible? I bet you don’t. The interesting thing for me is that to some extent this is going on in our bodies at all times whenever we are in a state of dis-ease. We don’t even have to be consciously thinking about how our bodies feel to be effected by it, or even to feel pain. Even a slight muscular tension is enough for us to hold or carry ourselves differently which sends different messages to our brains about how our bodies are functioning and coping. It’s these messages, if not corrected by an adjustment, that overtime will become stronger neural pathways or habits which reinforce the views that created them in the first place and keep us stuck in limiting patterns and beliefs which are ultimately detrimental to our health. It is this very concept which brings me to my why for chiropractic.
I want to help people identify what is limiting them within their lives and to help them facilitate change in their bodies and minds through chiropractic care, which will create change in the way they think about their lives and what it is that is possible for them. I believe within each of us there is an Einstein waiting to be discovered and expressed and I think that if we all unlocked our inner Einstein the world would become an even more phenomenal place.
As Wayne Dyer says “Don’t die with your music still in you!”

So I’d love to hear from you awesome readers, what is the reason you do what you do? What is your why? Have you read “Start With Why” and what was the take home message or “ah ha” moment for you?

This entry was posted in Chiropractic, Growth and Change, Inspiration, Philosophy and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to What’s Your “Why”

  1. Thank you for stopping by my blog and liking my post and in turn introducing me to your blog. I really enjoyed this post as it really got me thinking about my own ‘why’. I am currently finishing two years away from work after reaching burn out and having to leave what was my dream job but a job that was too much for one person – when I left I was replaced by two people who have a team supporting them. Nonetheless it was still my dream job and so hard to leave even though by the end of five years in the role I was barely managing to get up in the mornings. Now it is hard not to feel like I kissed my ‘why’ goodbye and I am searching for a way to find it again without harming my health. So thank you for your post and the thinking it has encouraged me to do.

    • Thanks for your response and I am glad that you have gotten some inspiration from what I have written. I wonder if you may be able to find your ‘why’ in a new company or in beginning your own business? All the best with the search and I look forward to future Auckland Foodie posts 🙂

  2. I think it’s great that you decided to go back to school! It shows true courage in my opinion!
    Ipulled my back recently after working very hard on my own to get it back in order. Your post definitely got me thinking about how one little thing can throw the rest of your body off balance…SEVERELY. Unfortunately, the only “why”I can think of is “Why my back… AGAIN?!”

    • Thanks for your visit and comments. ‘Why your back?’ there might be a lesson in there somewhere 🙂 although it’s not always easy to see it at the time. I think it would be interesting to look at your ‘why’ for your blog. You must really have a passion for all things sparkly and a great interest in writing. I think when you focus on your passion the rest of life falls into place hopefully creating a balance. I know that balance is copping a bit of flak lately but I still think that is something that is worth working towards. I am planning on writing a blog on it shortly – watch this space!
      All the best for a timely recovery and uncovering your ‘Why’!

  3. Hi Meaghan, thanks for visiting my blog and taking the time to read it. I enjoyed this post and listened to Simon Sinok’s talk on the internet. I have also been reading about “Conscious Marketing” which voices similar thoughts. Recalling some of the workshops I went to back in the 90s, the marketing “gurus” back then used to talk about the importance of businesses having a “USP”. It seems perhaps that the “why” factor that we are talking about is very similar. What are your thoughts on this?
    Thanks for your very interesting post.
    Cheers
    Tina

    • Hi Tina
      Thanks for your visit. Strange but my reply hasn’t appeared here yet so I apologise if you end up getting more than one response – a glitch in the system maybe. I think you are right the USP is quite similar to working with your ‘why’ as far as I can see. I think that USP might be more sales driven but working with your ‘why’ to me seems more passion driven. Either way I guess the outer result is similar 🙂

  4. Thank you for liking my post and introducing me to your blog! Your theme reflects my own, only from a positive point of view! I am curious about the TED video and will have a look now, I feel inspired and grateful to have made a connection with you x

Leave a Reply

