Finding More ‘Me’ Time

Just discovered a great little ebook called “What the Most Successful People Do Before Breakfast” by Laura Vanderkam.

The book looks at the fact that the most productive hours of our days are those in the morning.  This is really interesting to me as I have noticed that if I want to get something done then I am better to get motivated and start it in the morning rather than wait until the afternoon when resolve is usually at an all time low.

It seems that if you put time into doing something for yourself first up then you are more likely to be satisfied that you have had your ‘me’ time and will be happy to start doing the other tasks that need to be done for the rest of the day.  I think this is really true for me – it is so much easier to do yoga in the morning, start out eating healthily, say no to eating unhealthily, and justify doing something enjoyable and yet not feel bad about it as you still have a whole day to finish what you need to do.  I also find it easier do tasks that you would rather put off in the morning rather than the afternoon.

So my challenge at the moment is to get up that little bit earlier, which should be easy enough for me as my partner is up early for work, and to make the most of the morning hours before I start my day by doing things like meditation and writing.  I also think that I shall use the time to plan out my day because I know from personal experience that if I have allocated time to do certain activities they are more likely to be done and if I schedule some me time as a reward at the end of it there is even more incentive.  Best of all these habits put you in the best frame of mind for the rest of the day.

What does your perfect morning entail?

What would you do if you had more time?

Is getting up earlier something which could fit into your schedule?

This entry was posted in Growth and Change, Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

